Slice-and-Bake, with a new recipe

by ck

Image

I like doing things ahead of time. I make a pot of soup for the week, I plan my work day while I brush my teeth, and I like to finish drafts with plenty of leeway. This all makes me sound very virtuous and organized. The reality is that if I don’t take precautions, my brain is so full of anxieties and random unnecessary items that nothing gets done well or on time. That is the truth.

This is the oldest trick in the book, but I almost always have a log of cookie dough in my freezer.  It is useful for many things: I can accept a dinner invitation with the satisfying knowledge that my contribution is taken care of (depending on the party I will either bake ahead of time or bring the cookie dough with me for nice, warm cookies.) I have an instant dessert if I desperately need one (I’m not above microwaving a chunk in a small cup, which I will then eat with a spoon) or if a friend needs love and affection and baked goods on a day where I got stuck at the office until 9 PM. All of these situations can be remedied during a lazy weekend afternoon.

This is not your mother’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.  In fact, my own mother didn’t even like these. But I do, and my friends do, and they have the added benefit of feeling a little more wholesome that the recipe we’re all so familiar with. I swapped olive oil for butter (not an easy task, it turns out!) and whole-wheat flour for white. I happen to like the slightly grainy texture that whole-wheat flour imparts to baked goods, but you could probably swap white-whole wheat if you want the healthy & nutty without the grainy. The olive oil definitely adds a different (kind of earthy or savory) flavor, so don’t expect them to taste like your garden-variety butter treats. I tried this recipe three times times.  The first two attempts yielded cookies at both ends of the scale– the first, dry, and the second, unbearably oily. The final product, on the other hand, rocks. Be glad you didn’t suffer through two inedible batches like I did.

Image

Recipe:

Mix 2 1/4 c flour, 1 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 tsp baking soda in medium bowl. In large bowl, combine 3/4 c white sugar, 3/4 c brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/4 c olive oil. Add 2 eggs. Beat in flour mixture (it will be dry and hard to work with, but stick with me!) Add a tablespoon or two of milk to loosen the batter (I used about 1.5 tbsp.) Fold in as many chocolate chips as you want.

Tear a large sheet of waxed paper (twice as long as it is wide) and dollop half of the batter into the middle using a spatula (or your hands, let’s be real) work the dough into a long log shape. Roll it up. As you’re rolling, be careful not to squish the paper into too many nooks and crannies in the dough– when you remove it from the freezer and try to unwrap it, the paper will get stuck and rip!

Freeze. To bake, preheat oven to 375F. As oven preheats, remove cookie dough. Using a sharp knife, slice dough into rounds. Shape as necessary. Bake. They took 11 min in my oven, but 10 in a friend’s.

If you aren’t freezing the dough, I would suggest refrigerating it for 20 min as the oven preheats.

 

