Strawberry Lemon Tea Cake

by ck

Image

It rained on Saturday, the kind of calm, quiet rain that patters away at your roof and encourages you to tackle something different but still comforting. I’ve made this recipe many, many times, but on Saturday (the best day of the week, no murmurs of Monday), ingredients and curiosity necessitated that I change things up a bit. This cake tastes fresh and light. Although it has a rather modest appearance, it really measures up to any of the occasion cakes that I’m prone to make (two friends already requested it for their spring and summer birthdays.)

The transition from winter to spring is always abrupt and unsettling, and the shift from spring to summer even more so. When things start to unbalance I take refuge in little things (likes cakes) that can be conjured from my kitchen in the space of a few hours.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

RECIPE:
Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 9″ cake pan (I used a springform pan, as I wasn’t sure how easily it would release after the changes I made.)  Combine 1.5 c white whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking powder, and 3/4 tsp. salt in a small bowl.

Add 1 c white sugar to a large bowl. Grate zest from one lemon, then squeeze half the lemon’s juice into the bowl. Add 3/4 c Greek yogurt (I used non-fat, as it’s what I had, but the original recipe calls for whole-milk yogurt) 1/3 c olive oil,  two eggs, and 1/2 tsp vanilla.  Mix. Cut 1 lb. strawberries into halves and add to wet ingredients, then fold in dry ingredients carefully.  Pour into pan and arrange strawberry halves on top. Bake for 55 min, but check at 45 and every 5 min thereafter.

(EDIT: a friend tested this recipe for me, and she said that she couldn’t fit an entire pound of strawberries into this cake. That makes sense. Just put as many strawberries as you’d like! Around 3/4 pound seems right.)

Too good!

(See this link if you’re curious about the difference between white, whole wheat, and white whole wheat flours. The second one sure sounds like an oxymoron, but it isn’t!)

