Yogurt Biscuits + ??

by ck

Image
(Biscuit with lemon curd)

Yesterday I was working from home, a phenomenon I don’t enjoy as much as I should (I get lonely!) UNLESS it happens to be the perfect day for yogurt biscuits. A friend sent me this article with the note “try it sometime and tell me if it works!” and I decided that ‘sometime’ ought to be right now, in lieu of a lunch break. These came together in about 8 minutes and baked in 15, meaning I got to spend the remaining 7 minutes cackling to myself and rubbing my hands together while I sifted through my cabinets in search of the perfect pairing (lemon curd? Raspberry jam? Creamed honey? Speculoos??)

I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, a handful of blueberries, and a handful of raspberries to the batter. The “recipe” from Food52 is all about approximation, so I’m going to let myself off the hook and let you play around with the proportions. From my previous experience with biscuits (many late nights in college, thanks to my southern roommate), I knew that the batter should be more dry than wet: more like pie crust and less like cake dough. And with that, I’m off to make another batch.  (Cheddar and pepper? Nutella swirl? The possibilities are endless!)

Image
(The aftermath.)

