The BEST (Healthy) Cookies

by ck

Image

So, I know these cookies aren’t the sexiest desserts you’ve ever laid eyes on, but let me tell you: they are delectable, fast, and (depending on the oats you use) gluten free!

Let’s talk about ‘healthy’ cookies. I think most people these days are familiar with the easy three-ingredient cookie: nothing but rolled oats, mashed banana, and chocolate chips. While I like the flavor of those cookies, I think the texture leaves something to be desired.  The lack of any powdery ingredient makes them dense and rubbery in a slightly unappealing way.

My friend’s mother (an incredible cook and a walking, talking baking encyclopedia) sent me a recipe for an ‘updated’ 3 ingredient cookie, which I tried and liked.  The second time I made it I threw in a bunch of additions as I saw fit: unsweetened coconut, almond extract, cinnamon. The result is a batch of cookies with actual cookie texture.  They remind me a little of these delicious creations (though really it’s cruel to compare.)

Here’s the recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Mash a couple of medium sized bananas (should come to around a cup and a half.) Mix in 1/4 c. olive oil, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and 1/4 tsp. almond extract (if you have it.) In a larger bowl, mix together 2 c. rolled oats (bob’s makes a good gluten free option), 2/3 c. almond flour, and 1/3 c. unsweetened shredded coconut (you can also use whole wheat flour here, I have!) Add 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, and 1 tsp baking powder.  Mix wet into dry, then add as many chocolate chips as you’d like. Bake for 15 min (but check at 12.)

N.B. I have had brownies made from black beans and they are surprisingly tasty.

