In Case of Emergency, Break Cookie(s)

by ck

Image

Like all sentient human beings, I love the perfectly rounded, chubby, crispy edge of a correctly formed and portioned chocolate-chip cookie.  However, on a weekend filled with both buzzing activity and dull, sluggish moments, I wanted to feel the satisfaction that results from breaking off a corner of something at once chewy and crunchy (thanks to the slivered almonds in the mix.) There’s something inimitably gratifying about reaching for a dessert, tearing off a piece, and feeling the edge crumble under your fingertips. Imagine the extended period of bliss, I reasoned, if that’s how the entire dessert would be eaten! Plus, I was too frazzled to pull out the scoop and bother with portions. I needed something that I could make in one bowl, which I figured I could then upend over my baking sheet and press into a giant amorphous mass. Maybe it was the exhausting day, or maybe I just wanted to make cookies the way a 5 year old would make them.

If you have a metabolism and sense of innovation akin to my roommate’s (he’s 6’5″), you could consider breaking the bar into chunks, pouring some milk over it, and eating it for breakfast.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Recipe:

I adapted this recipe to suit my needs and found it to be a great basic guide. I’ve since used the same foundation for cookies with dried cherries and butter instead of olive oil.

Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a baking sheet (I used a 9×9 brownie pan with raised edges.) Add 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1 egg white, and 3 tbsp olive oil to a medium-sized bowl. Mix. Add 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. rolled oats, 1/2 c. slivered almonds, and 1/2 c. chocolate chips. Stir to combine, then unceremoniously dump onto the baking sheet and flatten with a spatula until about 1/2 inch thick. Bake for 12-14 min until brown at the edges. Eat immediately, burning your tongue as you go.

