Simple Summer Dessert Round-Up

by ck

Desserts, desserts, desserts. I love them and I feel sad when a week goes by and I don’t pull a pie, a tart, a cake, or a crumble out of my oven. When the temperature hovers around 90 degrees fahrenheit with 1000% humidity, however, I do my best to eschew all use of the stove (farro salad all day, every day!) Luckily, a lot of bloggers around the interwebs are taking notice and they’re here to save us from our cravings.

The dessert that started it all, with all the elements of perfection: Joy the Baker’s Peanut Butter Banana Bonbons

Coconut-Fig Popsicles from Into the Gloss, made with both coconut water AND coconut milk (so basically, a health-fad miracle.)

If you’re looking for some fancy styling (lots of colored popsicles sticks, perfect manicures) check out Cupcakes & Cashmere’s Layered Caramel Crunch Pops. I’m not usually a huge fan of Emily’s blog, but I do like anything with a crunchy peanut topping…

BGSK’s Easy Mango Sorbet.  You couldn’t pay me to skip the coconut cream topping on this one.

And, always and forever, Smitten Kitchen’s espresso granita. If you’ve spent any time in Italy (Rome especially) you’ll be familiar with this omnipresent, omnipotent afternoon indulgence.

Congrats! You are now equipped with the tools to host a formidable dessert party.

