a few photos, august

by ck

I’m back! I was away, but now I’m back. Here are a few photos from the last couple of weeks. I spent time with my family in Wellfleet (so much seafood) and out in the Hudson Valley (so much produce.) A lot of things reset in the past fortnight, and I’m very grateful. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetMorning run to Wellfleet Harbor

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetIndulgent bakery breakfast and reading

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetEvery year my dad fries pieces of haddock and we eat them with chipotle black beans, rice, and unreasonable amounts of tabasco.

 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe perfect second-day meal: fish tacos.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe best lunch of lobster salad, fresh tomatoes, and egg.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetVisiting a friend’s farm in upstate New York.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetI haven’t been interested in the oven lately (my dinner for the past week: some combination of 1 entire fresh tomato, cut into slices, drizzled with olive oil; a fresh mozzarella ball or sourdough roll with goat cheese; basil leaves or arugula with corn; a hard boiled egg with salt and pepper.) It’s berry season, though, so the baking itch is becoming harder to ignore.

