blueberry cake, or, I don’t like streusel

by ck

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hello! A few weeks ago I made a blueberry cake. More specifically, I riffed off this recipe by SK. It was about 90 degrees out, the water main on our street was broken (those dishes sat in the sink for a loooong time), and I was looking for any excuse to distract myself. Logical answer: turn on the oven and make your apartment 5x more humid and twice as hot.

I’m posting this recipe because I didn’t like it. That’s a good thing to keep track of, right? Deb has never let me down before! But really, I was not into this cake. I thought I would love it. But instead of curing my frustrated, antsy feeling, it only exacerbated it! Why?? How can ANY dessert make me feel worse? My friends all liked it! We came home late that night and devoured the whole thing. But still, I wasn’t sold. The crumb was moist, yeah, yeah, the crazy amount of blueberries made it deliciously tart…but it still didn’t do it for me. Why?

Suddenly, a revelation: I don’t like streusel! Crazy, right? It’s buttery, sugary, a welcome variation in texture. But still, not interested.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t make this cake. Next time, however, I will make my own topping, or get rid of it completely. If I wanted to change it up, I might add in a bunch of oats, lots of pecans, use brown sugar, maybe cut back on the butter….

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Here’s the variation that I made a few weeks ago.

CAKE:

2 c white-whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp butter
3/4 c. white sugar
zest from 1 lemon + 2 tbsp juice
1 pint blueberries
1/2 c. 2% milk
1/2 c. chopped pecans

(STREUSEL, if you want: same as Deb’s. 5 tbsp flour (I used whole-wheat), 1/2 c. white sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 4 tbsp unsalted butter, pinch of salt.)

FUTURE “STREUSEL”: Mix 3 tbsp. oats with 2 tbsp. whole wheat or almond flour, 2 tbsp. brown sugar, 1/4 c. chopped pecans, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, and 3 tbsp (maybe 4? depends on how wet it is) butter.

Preheat oven to 375F. Butter a 8.5″ springform pan (or 9″ cake pan, but cake will not rise as high.) Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in one bowl. In a larger bowl, beat butter, sugar, and zest until fluffy. Add egg, vanilla, and lemon juice and mix until combined. Add 1/2 dry mixture into the wet mixture, then add 1/4 c. of the milk. Add blueberries. Add remaining amount of dry ingredients and other 1/4 c. of milk–  mix just until it comes together. Pour batter into cake pan and smooth top.

Some day soon I will try my new “streusel” and see how it works. Mix all the ingredients together, top the cake.

Check at 35 min, but might take as long as 50 (mine did.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetJust in case you’re wondering, I am a great roommate.

