Lunch, Part One

by ck

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

These days, I’m making a concerted effort to make lunches that don’t depress me as soon as I pull them out of our work fridge. I went through too many iterations involving tuna sandwiches (celery, mayo, yogurt [??], radishes, mustard…) before I reached this conclusion. The time has come. No more tuna! No more sad sandwiches! (Happy sandwiches, fine. In that vein, I made myself a crispy grilled cheese to dunk in homemade apple sauce for dinner last night, and it. was. outstanding.)

Anyway, last week I made chicken burritos, but without the burrito wrapping.

The meal involved beans, chicken, farro, corn, avocado, and a heaping pile of grated cheddar cheese.

To make the beans, I set a small saucepan on the stove over medium-low heat, added some olive oil, and sauteed a garlic clove and half a yellow onion. Into the pot went 1/2 tsp of cumin. I then cracked open two small cans of beans, added them to the oil/garlic/onion, reduced the heat to low, and forgot about it for the next 20 minutes.

To make the corn…I added a little water to a plate and microwaved it for 6 minutes. I know, I know. The stove was full, and microwaving it is so easy! When the corn looked plump and yellow, I removed it from the microwave, set it on its end, and cut the kernels off (see this video for tips!)

The farro was easy: before I started on the chicken, I heated up a pan of water and cooked an entire bag of 10 minute farro from TJoe’s.

For the chicken, I cut boneless skinless breast pieces (more expensive, yeah, but you pay for convenience) into 1/2 inch chunks. I greased a pan with a couple tablespoons of olive oil, turned the heat to medium-high, and tossed the chicken in. As the chicken browned, I added about 1/4 tsp of both cumin and paprika, then grabbed the red pepper flakes and gave it a couple of shakes. We had some leftover chicken broth in the fridge, so I added about a quarter of a cup and let that simmer down.

To bring it to work, I grabbed a tupperware and layered the farro, black beans, chicken, and corn over one another, then cut up half of an avocado and grated a bunch of cheddar cheese on top. Microwaved for 2 min in the office kitchen and…good to go.

